5 things I will miss about Paris

“If you are lucky enough to have lived in Paris as a young man, then wherever you go for the rest of your life, it stays with you, for Paris is a moveable feast.”

Ernest Hemingway

 

I’m leaving Paris guys!!!!!

After nearly one whole year in the city of lights, I will soon be packing my bags back to rainy old England.*Queue sad violin music.*

To be completely honest, it wasn’t easy at first to adjust to the new surroundings. The overcrowded city, the cultural differences, the language barriers but now I can I safely say that I will be leaving this beloved city with fond memories that I will take with me forever.

As a closing post on my time here  I will be sharing a list of 5 things that I will seriously miss about Paris.

The Bakeries

Need I say any more? Look at all the gorgeous options the average Parisian bakery has to offer. And with bakeries dotted everywhere across the city, the temptation is ludicrously high!

I’ve made it my mission to taste every single traditional French patisserie found in typical French bakeries (at the downfall of my ever-expanding waistline) and have enjoyed each one of them. In fact, I would even go as far to say that eating a pain au chocolat aux amandes cheers me up and gives me instant motivation to take on the world. Whoever invented anti-depressants had clearly never been to a French bakery.

The Metro

I know what your thinking, she must be kidding right? No I am not kidding. Despite condemning the Parisian metropolitan system in many blog posts over the past few months I have grown fond of this transit system. Yes it does generally smell of stale piss and doubles up as a shelter for the homeless but I love that I can get from one end of Paris to another in a blink of an eye. Also, on the metro I can enjoy my favourite hobby – people watching. Yes, I’m that creepy girl who stares at absolutely everyone on the train wondering what their lives are like, where they are going, who they are with etc…Oh and I’ll miss the accordion players of course!

The Apartment Sizes

I am not being sarcastic. After living in Paris I have seriously come to appreciate space. Now you might think this is a weird thing to miss but to any other you out there who have lived in Paris. You will understand why I have put this down on the list.
A good example of this is when I went to visit a friend  for the first time at her new apartment. As soon as I walked in I was blown away by its vastness.

“Wow, your flat is enormous.” I say
“Yeah I know, it’s 20m2.” She says smugly.

In the real world, 20m2 is not large at all but in Paris it’s like a freaking mansion. Also bear in mind that my studio in comparison is a mere 13m2. Yes that’s right, my entire studio is the same size as my bedroom in England. Go figure…

French Men

The subject of many a phone call to my girlfriends back in the UK. What are French men like? Is the question that I tend to get the most. In the UK and perhaps internationally French men are known for their smouldering good looks and their romance. Personally, I think they are like any other man, just with added French touch, and by French touch I mean their charm. They are so convinced in their own abilities to charm you that it almost becomes a feat in itself!

Speaking French

This is definitely what I am going to miss the most when I leave Paris. After a year in France I finally feel like my French is starting to ‘sink in’. I speak French all the time now, at work, with friends, I even in think in French sometimes! It gives an extra little confidence boost when you hear yourself speaking fluent French and think, damn is that really me communicating in a whole other language?!

Learning another language is truly one of the most rewarding things you can do as you can see how far you’ve come. It may be tough guys but it is definitely worth it!

 

And there you have it, the top 5 things I will miss about Paris. I hope my posts have been enjoyable to read and helpful for those considering a move abroad!

 

Lola xo

 

Leave a Reply

