The Great Gatsby of Paris

 

After months of plucking up the courage, I am proud to announce that I have finally attended a Jim Haynes dinner party.

For those of you who don’t know Jim Haynes is a writer, actor and producer from the states living in Paris and every sunday for the past 30 years he has hosted a dinner party at his home. Yes, that’s right, 30 years nonstop of hosting dinners parties every single sunday, with an estimated 120,000 people dining at his over the years.

What is so special about Jim Hayne’s soirées is that they are completely open to the public making him the Great Gatsby of Paris! All you need to do is send an email request and he’ll put you straight on the guest list. Easy as that!

I suppose what I loved the most about my Jim Haynes experience was getting to meet people from completely different backgrounds all in one bohemian Parisian apartment. From the native Parisian, to the passing tourist you’ll find people from all walks of life at Jims.

Jim is a warm and friendly character and very hard to miss. Sat on his stool by the entrance to his home, you’ll instantly feel welcomed as Jim quickly introduces you to another guest in the house.

“Lola, I’m so glad you could make it!”

As the evening draws on the numbers continue to swell and you soon realise that there over 50 people eating, drinking and mingling in this chilled and relaxing environment.

There I meet an Indian poet, a Ukrainian tattoo artist,  a British journalist who spent 5 years living in Nigeria, a French PR Executive and many others with extremely interesting stories to share.

“I have been coming here for the past 15 years and each week there is a different feel to Jim’s dinner parties…”

 

 

As some of you may know I am a British student doing an internship in Paris. Before I started my year abroad I promised myself that I would try as much as possible to get out of my comfort zone and be more adventurous, and force myself to really embrace my new-found surroundings. For any of you in Paris looking to do the same I would urge you to attend a Jim Haynes dinner party!

 

Lola xo

2 responses to “The Great Gatsby of Paris

Leave a Reply

