Help, I’m Homeless! Part II

Me, If I don't get my act together.

Me, If I don’t get my act together.

As you may or may not have noticed, I have a count down widget displayed on my blog aptly titled The Big Day. This so-called ‘Big Day’ has been a heavy burden on my mind for many months now. It keeps me awake at night, it gives be butterflies in my stomach. This is because in exactly 13 days time I will officially begin my life as an intern in Paris.

“How do you feel?” People always ask me. “You must be so excited!”

EXCITED?? Anything but.

Don’t get me wrong It’s not that the prospect of living and working in one of the most famous and glamorous cities in the world doesn’t thrill me. It’s just that with less than 2 weeks to go I have still have nowhere to live.

Yes, you read it right. Shock Horror,  I know…

Some of you may remember my first post on this issue a couple of months ago, if I was panicking back then you can only imagine what I’m feeling now.

It’s not like I haven’t been trying! With some of your advice I’ve gathered contacts from flatshare websites and paris rental sites and even arranged a few visits in Paris but let me tell you, house-hunting in Paris is not easy!

  • One apartment would involve living with one peruvian guy, his girlfriend and their two kids! (all in a two bed apartment I might add).
  • One estate agent suggested living with two others guys who are both in their 40’s!!!! (Eww)
  • One property would involve an hour and a half commute to work every single day. (Effort!)
  • One home was absolutely ideal, close to my work, well furnished and affordable but would involve living with a girl who is verging on schizophrenic (ok, slight exaggeration but she is too weird for me!)

Is there anyone else out there in my position? Are you finding house-hunting for your year abroad unbelievably frustrating?

Lola xo

13 responses to “Help, I’m Homeless! Part II

  1. Yes! I still don’t have a place to live, but out of the blue a Venezuelan girl message me asking to be flatmates after seeing my advert on a website. She is in canaries now looking for ‘our flat’ but still nothing is in concrete. I only have 10 days to go!

    • Wow, you have 10 days to go?! I swear there needs to be more help available for people in our position looking for accommodation abroad. It’s not fair!! :( Good luck with everything though! :)

  2. House-hunting is the hardest part of the year abroad, and trust it to be the very first thing you have to do! Trust me, it gets a lot easier after that one big hurdle! After surviving that, it’s all plain sailing. Have an amazing time in Paris! I spent my year abroad in Spain & Italy but went to Paris a few weekends ago and simply adored the city!

  3. Pingback: You Know You’re in Paris When… | lolanded·

Leave a Reply

