HELP, I’m HOMELESS!

Right, so in 80 days I will be moving to Paris to do a work placement. Now don’t get me wrong I am super-freaking excited, I mean how many 20 year olds get to say that they will be working in such an awesome city like Paris! It’s the number 1 tourist destination in the ENTIRE WORLD.

BUT, there is this one little thing that keeps me awake at night……

I am homeless. Yes, I am that girl who with only a couple of months to go still hasn’t sorted out accommodation. Should I be freaking out right now?!

I keep telling myself that everything will be alright in the end but I’m getting closer and closer to D-DAY and I haven’t seemed to find anything ‘legit’.

I’ve tried all those dating websites for shared apartments, but the internet can be so creeepy sometimes. Most of the people who message be about an apartment in Paris tend to be 40-something year old men! EEWW!

What should I do people? I don’t want to be living on the streets of Paris!

 

English: A homeless man in Paris Français : Un...

English: A homeless man in Paris Français : Un sans domicile fixe à Paris. Tiếng Việt: Một người đàn ông vô gia cư ở Paris Polski: Bezdomny mężczyzna w Paryżu See below for more translations. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

17 responses to “HELP, I’m HOMELESS!

  1. Don’t freak out!! You’ll find something, but it sounds like you’re on the right track looking before you get out there. I know (sort of) a guy who has just come back from a term abroad in Paris. He didn’t look for accommodation until he got there, but found it took longer than expected – he was in a hotel for around 3 weeks I think. Finally, he found a 1 bedroom studio in a really nice area, but it was apparently pretty expensive for what it was – but it is the capital city so that’s part of the deal I suppose. You have plenty of time to get sorted, and if you like I can pass on any tips I get from him to you. Good luck :)

    • Oh my gosh, would you? I really don’t want to find myself stuck when I get there. But, I am determined and hopefully I’ll find something soon, thanks :)

      • Of course, no problem :) I’m sure you will, the perfect place for you will be out there somewhere! Try not to get too creeped out by wierdos on the internet in the search process haha. I’ll let you know what I find out in the next few weeks.

  2. Soo I had a chat with this guy’s mum at the gym this morning. Apparently he eventually got his place through an agency, and had to pay a fee to the agency of around 400 euros. But she said it would be better to first ask the employer, to see if they will help, and then look into renting a place in student halls – if that’s possible if you’re not a student. She also mentioned some sort of specific internship accommodation scheme, which maybe you’ll be eligible for. Might be worth looking into. I’ll let you know if I learn anything else :) Hope this helps a bit. – Annie

    • Ah thanks so much for the info Annie! To be honest I’ve been trying to avoid going through an agency because of those steep prices. Now the internship accommodation scheme I have never heard of so I’ll definitely be looking into that pronto! You have been a MASSIVE help :)

  3. Good luck finding accommodation, I’m sure you will though the search is stressful. Do you know any other students who will be studying or working in Paris or have done so in the past? Most of my friends who have studied/worked in Paris have found a place to stay through uni-connections. Looking forward to hear what you find!

    • Unfortunately I don’t know anyone else who is going to Paris and my Uni is really unhelpful when it comes to finding accommodation for interns so I’m pretty much on my own :(
      Thanks for the interest though and I’ll definitely keep you guys updated on how I get on finding accommodation :)

  4. It is a lot easier to find accommodation when you are out there because then you can actually view the properties! I came out to Cologne a week earlier but that wasn’t long enough so i’d recommend coming about 2 weeks before your internship starts :). p.s here are some good websites that my uni recommended ….
    http://www.colocation.fr
    http://www.appartager.fr
    http://www.recherche-colocation.com

    GOOD LUCK AND ENJOY YOUR YEAR ABROAD!

  5. Pingback: My Paris Bucket List | lolanded·

Leave a Reply

